Upon the formation of the National Organisation, appropriate changes were effected to the British Red Cross Society in Jesselton,
making it the Malaysian Red Crescent Society Sabah Branch.
The change also made way for the last President of the British Red Cross Society Lady Goode, wife of Sir William Goode,
the last British Governor of British North Borneo, to hand-over the leadership of the Malaysian Red Crescent Society Sabah Branch
to Datuk Wong Thau Sem as the first local Chairman of the Sabah Branch in 1965.
Datuk Wong, a banker by profession, pioneered the expansion and development of the Society with
a combination of commitment, sincerity and honesty
thereby furthering the tradition of volunteer services and goodwill started by this predecessor.
The Sabah Anti-Tuberculosis Association or SABATA, the Wallace Training Centre for the Blind in Tuaran,
the Princess Anne's Home for the Orphanage in Likas and the Red Crescent Transit Hut were some of the legacies
that were pioneered by the Society.
These institutions later grew to be recognised on their own merits and become legal bodies in their own rights
while continuing to contribute positively to the community and the needy.
He held the post for seven successful years before being hampered by failing health into handing
over the position to Mr. William J. Chai, in 1972 who held the post for 30 years.
The current Chairman is Encik Asirin Abdul Kadir who took the helm in 2013.
Sabah now has  00 chapters namely
Kota Kinabalu, Tawau, Tenom, Kudat, Sandakan, Keningau, Kota Belud, Lahad Datu, Tambunan,
Tuaran, Penampang, Beaufort, Kota Marudu, Ranau and Kuala Penyu.