MASK In Malaysia

The Federation of Malaysia Karate-Do Organisations (FEMKO)

In 1972, MASK spearheaded the formation and establishment of the Federation of Malaysia Karate-Do Organisation (FEMKO) which gained the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports' recognition and blessings to represent Malaysia in the 1972 Paris 2nd World Championships. MASK's R.Ravee and Naser S.Anuar represented Malaysia as the official and contestant respectively. Another participant from Malaysia was Keishinkan's Raymond Tan who also  competed in the championships. In 1973, MASK led the Malaysian National team to the 1st Asia Pacific Union of Karate-Do Organisations' Inauguration Championships in Singapore. APUKO was later known as the Asia Union Of Karate-Do Organisation (AUKO) but effective 1999, it is called Asia Karate Federation (AKF).

FEMKO was however short-lived. It was found later that one of its affiliates was a business registered body. the then Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport directed FEMKO to annul that body's affiliation consequent to the registrar of society's decision. Another affiliate was found to be practising Tang Soo Do instead of Karate-Do. Its affiliation too was annulled. Another affiliate represented a small group of Karate-do enthusiasts located in the North Perak township. The group became inactive and later, defunct. Another affiliate, located only in Kuala Lumpur also became inactive. That left MASK and the autonomous University of Malaya Karate-Do Club.

MASK and the University Club, both being 100% Shito-Ryu became synonymous with FEMKO. Given such a situation, FEMKO could not possible and practically become the umbrella organisation for karate-Do in Malaysia in view of the redundancy. As a result, FEMKO was disbanded. It is important to note that at that time, there exited no other Karate organisation which was eligible to be admitted into FEMKO. The deregistered KAM, reregistered its under the business registration call Karate Budokan, thus rendering it not eligible to be a member of FEMKO. Several instructors within the BUDOKAN became aware of the limitation and restrictions they had to bear with if they remained in the business registered under the societies Act.  Prominent ones are the Shorin-ryu, Goshin-Ryu, Goju-kai, Okinawa Goju-Ryu, Shotokan, which, in the late seventies, together with MASK, became the funding members of the Malaysia Karate-Do Federation, now know as the Malaysia Karate Federation (MAKAF), the present national umbrella body for karate.


Malaysia Karate Federation (MAKAF)

In 1977, a meeting amongst the following karate-Do styles was held in Kuala Lumpur to form the Malaysia Karate-Do Federation (now known as the Malaysia Karate Federation) - MAKAF

*Shito-Ryu (MASK)   *Shorin-Ryu  *Goshhin-Ryu  *Goju-Kai  * Shotokan * OkinawaGoju-Ryu (now known as the Perak Karate Association)

MAKAF was officially registered in 1978. MASK's Michael Lum Tho became MAKAF's first Secretary General (1977-1978), succeeded by Frankie H'ng Chun Jen, also of MASK (1978-1979), followed by MASK's Naser S Anuar as the third Secretary General (1980-1990).

The following styles followed suit to become members of MAKAF:-   * Oyama Kyokushinkaikan   * Keishinkan  * Hayashi-Ha   * Kenpo Seibukan (Goju-Ryu)

In 1982, MAKAF amended its Ryu-ha (style) basis of Membership in the constitution to accommodate the inclusion of the state bodies. The Sabah Karate Association (SKA) became the first state member of MAKAF as a result of the amendment. Prior to this, Sabah Karate Association's officials, the late Datuk James VC Lo and Alex Sham met the then MAKAF's Secreatry General, Naser S Anuar in Taipeh, Taiwan in 1982 on the occasion of the World Championship. In that meeting, the Sabah Officials made a formal request for it to be admitted into MAKAF.

In 1988, MAKAF ceased to accept members on Ryu-ha basis, and instead, encouraged the formation of state bodies for the purpose of affiliation with MAKAF. The following state bodies were subsequently formed, registered of Societies (now Commissioner of Sports Malaysia) and accepted as members of MAKAF:-

*Selangor   *Negeri Sembilan  *Melaka  *Johor   *Penang  *Kelantan  *Kedah  *WilayahPersekutuan-Labuan *Wilayah Persekutuan-KualaLumpur  

In the Eighties, Keishinkan became defunct and Kenpo Seibukan group withdrew its membership from MAKAF. Wilayah Persekutuan-Kuala Lumpur was deregistered in 1991 because of internal crisis. A new Wilayah Persekutuan-Kuala Lumpur Association was registered in 1992 but yet to be accepted as MAKAF's member.

Presently, MAKAF has a total of 17 affiliate members

Membership by Styles 

1. Shito-Ryu   2. Shorin-Ryu  3. Shotokan  4. Goju-Kai  5. Goshin-Ryu   6. Hayashi-Ha 

Membership by States 

7. Perak    8.Sabah  9.Selangor   10. Negeri Sembilan   11. Johor   12. Melaka  13. Penang  14. Kelantan 15. Kedah  16.Wilayah Persekutuan-Labuan 

Membership by Organisation

17. The Royal Malaysian Police  (Polis DiRaja Malaysia-PDRM)